Happy Camper

Jason Varitek spoke this afternoon for the first time since agreeing to return to the Red Sox. “There never was any doubt where I wanted to be. This is where my heart is and where I wanted to be. I’m glad its over with, I’m excited I’m with the Red Sox, I have peace of mind in this uniform. Its important to me to wear the “C” for the people and this organization.” Varitek also hinted a number of times that he would like to retire in a Red Sox uniform. Having a multiple year deal was important to him. He was asked if he had any other offers or options and told us that he instructed his agent, Scott Bortas, to exhaust all options with the Red Sox before looking elsewhere. Varitek said he had a productive winter, working on his “agility” and that he “was in a good place right now.”

Mike Lynch

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

